MCQs with Solutions for all Competitive Examinations

Modern Indian History MCQs for Competitive Examination

Q. 181
Who among the following is known as Punjab Kesari?

(A) Bhagat Singh
(B) Bipin Chandra Pal
(C) Lala Lajpat Rai
(D) Ranjit Singh

Answer: (C) Lala Lajpat Rai
Explanation: N/A

Q. 182
Which Viceroy of India ordered partition of Bengal through a royal proclamation?

(A) Lord Curzon
(B) Lord Minto
(C) Lord Ripon
(D) Lord Lytton

Answer: (A) Lord Curzon
Explanation: N/A

Q. 183
In which year partition of Bengal was announced?

(A) 1905
(B) 1906
(C) 1911
(D) 1912

Answer: (A) 1905
Explanation: N/A

Q. 184
In which of the following session of Indian National Congress, the resolution of Swadeshi was adopted?

(A) Banaras Session, 1905
(B) Calcutta Session, 1906
(C) Surat Session, 1907
(D) Lahore Session, 1929

Answer: (B) Calcutta Session, 1906
Explanation: N/A

Q. 185
The Indian National Congress split into two groups; the extremists and the moderators in which INC session?

(A) Lahore Session, 1929
(B) Lucknow Session, 1916
(C) Calcutta Session, 1905
(D) Surat Session, 1907

Answer: (D) Surat Session, 1907
Explanation: N/A

Q. 186
Anushilan Samiti was associated with

(A) Bhagat Singh
(B) Motilal Nehru
(C) Dadabhai Naoroji
(D) V. D. Savarkar

Answer: (D) V. D. Savarkar
Explanation: N/A

Q. 187
Which Viceroy of India shifted the capital from Calcutta to Delhi in 1911?

(A) Lord Minto
(B) Lord Hardinge
(C) Lord Chelmsford
(D) Lord Curzon

Answer: (B) Lord Hardinge
Explanation: N/A

Q. 188
Bihar was separated from Bengal in the year

(A) 1913
(B) 1936
(C) 1911
(D) 1912

Answer: (D) 1912
Explanation: N/A

Q. 189
Who founded Hindu Mahasabha in 1915?

(A) V. D. Savarkar
(B) B. G. Tilak
(C) Madan Mohan Malviya
(D) Aurobindo Ghosh

Answer: (C) Madan Mohan Malviya
Explanation: N/A

Q. 190
Which of the following event happened first.

(A) Formation of All India Muslim League
(B) Morley Minto Reform
(C) Transfer of capital from Calcutta to Delhi
(D) Montagu Chlemsford Reforms

Answer: (A) Formation of All India Muslim League
Explanation: N/A

Q. 191
Who annulled the Partition of Bengal in 1911?

(A) Lord Hardinge
(B) Lord Curzon
(C) Lord Minto
(D) Lord Chlemsford

Answer: (A) Lord Hardinge
Explanation: N/A

Q. 192
What was the immediate cause for the launch of the Swadeshi Movement?

(A) The partition of Bengal done by Lord Curzon
(B) A sentence of 18 months rigorous imprisonment imposed on Lokmanya Tilak
(C) The arrest and deportation of Lala Lajpat Rai and Ajit Singh; and passing of the Punjab Colonization Bills
(D) Death sentence pronounced on the Chapkar brother

Answer: (A) The partition of Bengal done by Lord Curzon
Explanation: N/A

Q. 193
Who among the following leaders led the Swadeshi Movement in Delhi?

(A) Lala Lajpat Rai
(B) Ajit Singh
(C) Bipin Chandra Pal
(D) Syed Haidar Raza

Answer: (D) Syed Haidar Raza
Explanation: N/A

Q. 194
Who led the Swadeshi Movement in Punjab?

(A) Lala Lajpat Rai and Ajit Singh
(B) Syed Haidar Raza
(C) Chidambaram Pillai
(D) Bipin Chandra Pal

Answer: (A) Lala Lajpat Rai and Ajit Singh
Explanation: N/A

Q. 195
Who was the president of Calcutta Session of INC, 1906?

(A) Rashbihari Ghosh
(B) Gopalkrishna Gokhale
(C) Dadabhai Naoroji
(D) Jawaharlal Nehru

Answer: (C) Dadabhai Naoroji
Explanation: N/A

Q. 196
Who presided over the famous Surat Session of Indian National Congress, 1907?

(A) Bal Gangadhar Tilak
(B) Lala Lajpat Rai
(C) Rashbihari Ghosh
(D) Gopalkrishna Gokhale

Answer: (C) Rashbihari Ghosh
Explanation: N/A

Q. 197
In 1908, Tilak was sentenced for writing seditious articles and deported to

(A) Rangoon
(B) Mandalay
(C) Andaman
(D) Bagan

Answer: (B) Mandalay
Explanation: N/A

Q. 198
Indian Council Act, 1909 is popularly known as

(A) Montagu-Chelmsford Reform
(B) Regulating Act
(C) Morley Minto Reform
(D) August Offer

Answer: (C) Morley Minto Reform
Explanation: N/A

Q. 199
Who is known as ‘Mother of Indian Revolution’?

(A) Annie Beasant
(B) Sarojini Naidu
(C) Aruna Asaf Ali
(D) Madame Cara

Answer: (D) Madame Cara
Explanation: N/A

Q. 200
Who was called as ‘The Father of Indian Unrest‘?

(A) Mahatma Gandhi
(B) Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel
(C) Jawaharlal Nehru
(D) Bal Gangadhar Tilak

Answer: (D) Bal Gangadhar Tilak
Explanation: N/A

Q. 201
Who published the Urdu language newspaper ‘Al-Hilal‘ during India’s freedom movement?

(A) Abul Kalam Azad
(B) Khan Abdul Gaffar Khan
(C) Zakir Hussain
(D) Muhammad Iqbal

Answer: (A) Abul Kalam Azad
Explanation: N/A

Q. 202
Morley Minto Reforms was introduced in

(A) 1909
(B) 1919
(C) 1911
(D) 1930

Answer: (A) 1909
Explanation: N/A

Q. 203
The revolutionist who after retirement, became a Philosopher and Yogi is

(A) Sri Aurobindo Ghosh
(B) Bal Gangadhar Tilak
(C) Lajpat Rai
(D) Mahatma Gandhi

Answer: (A) Sri Aurobindo Ghosh
Explanation: N/A

Q. 204
Who among the trio, Lal-Bal-Pal became Presiden of Indian National Congress?

(A) Lala Lajpat Rai
(B) Bal Gangadhar Tilak
(C) Bipin Chandra Pal
(D) None

Answer: (A) Lala Lajpat Rai
Explanation: N/A

Q. 205
Who among the following published the daily newspaper ‘New India‘?

(A) Bipin Chandra Pal
(B) Annie Beasant
(C) Mahatma Gandhi
(D) Bal Gangadhar Tilak

Answer: (B) Annie Beasant
Explanation: N/A

Q. 206
Who was appointed as the first President of All India Muslim League?

(A) M. A. Jinnah
(B) Aga Khan
(C) Muhammad Ali Bogra
(D) Abul Kalam Azad

Answer: (B) Aga Khan
Explanation: N/A

Q. 207
Annie Beasant became the first woman president of Indian National Congress in which year?

(A) 1916
(B) 1917
(C) 1918
(D) 1915

Answer: (B) 1917
Explanation: N/A

Q. 208
When did Akbar abolished pilgrimage tax?

(A) 1563 AD
(B) 1562 AD
(C) 1575 AD
(D) 1564 AD

Answer: (A) 1563 AD
Explanation: N/A

Q. 209
Which among the following newspapers were Published by Annie Beasant?

  1. New India (Daily)
  2. Commonweal
  3. Young India

(A) 1 and 3
(B) 1, 2 and 3
(C) 2 and 3
(D) 1 and 2

Answer: (D) 1 and 2
Explanation: N/A

Q. 210
Arrange the following events regarding India’s freedom movement from earliest to latest.

  1. Surat Split
  2. Annulment of Bengal Partition
  3. Morley-Minto Reforms

(A) 1 – 2 – 3
(B) 3 – 2 – 1
(C) 1 – 3 – 2
(D) 2 – 1 – 3

Answer: (C) 1 – 3 – 2
Explanation: N/A

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on telegram