MCQs with Solutions for all Competitive Examinations

Modern Indian History MCQs for Competitive Examination

Q. 31
Who was the Mughal emperor when the British East India Company was formed in London?

(A) Jahangir
(B) Aurangzeb
(C) Akbar
(D) Akbar II

Answer: (C) Akbar
Explanation: N/A

Q. 32
Who among the following European were the last to come to pre-independence India as traders?

(A) Dutch
(B) French
(C) British
(D) Danes

Answer: (B) French
Explanation: N/A

Q. 33
Who introduced the system of dual government in Bengal?

(A) Warren Hastings
(B) Robert Clive
(C) Lord Ripon
(D) Lord Lytton

Answer: (B) Robert Clive
Explanation: N/A

Q. 34
Who abolished the dual system of Government in Bengal?

(A) Warren Hastings
(B) Lord Minto
(C) Lord Canning
(D) Robert Clive

Answer: (A) Warren Hastings
Explanation: N/A

Q. 35
The first Anglo-Mysore was ended with which treaty?

(A) Treaty of Mysore
(B) Treaty of Allahabad
(C) Treaty of Pondicherry
(D) Treaty of Madras

Answer: (D) Treaty of Madras
Explanation: N/A

Q. 36
What was the capital of Tipu Sultan?

(A) Mysore
(B) Seringapatnam
(C) Madras
(D) Mangalore

Answer: (B) Seringapatnam
Explanation: N/A

Q. 37
Who was the father of Tipu Sultan?

(A) Mir Jafar
(B) Haider Ali
(C) Sirajuddaula
(D) Alivardi Khan

Answer: (B) Haider Ali
Explanation: N/A

Q. 38
Tipu Sultan was the ruler of 

(A) Bengal
(B) Mysore
(C) Punjab
(D) Maharashtra

Answer: (B) Mysore
Explanation: N/A

Q. 39
The second Anglo-Mysore war ended with which of the following treaty?

(A) Treaty of Madras
(B) Treaty of Mangalore
(C) Treaty of Punjab
(D) Treaty of Cochin

Answer: (B) Treaty of Mangalore
Explanation: N/A

Q. 40
Warren Hastings ended the dual system of government of Bengal in ____________________.

(A) 1765 AD
(B) 1772 AD
(C) 1764 AD
(D) 1773 AD

Answer: (B) 1772 AD
Explanation: N/A

Q. 41
Who was the founder of the Sikh rule in India?

(A) Guru Nanak
(B) Sher Singh
(C) Maharaja Ranjit Singh
(D) Guru Gobind Singh

Answer: (C) Maharaja Ranji Singh
Explanation: N/A

Q. 42
The treaty of Lahore was signed between

(A) Ranjit Singh and British
(B) Haider Ali and British
(C) Tipu Sultan and British
(D) Ranjit Singh and French

Answer: (A) Ranjit Singh and British
Explanation: N/A

Q. 43
Which treaty was signed after the First Anglo-Sikh war?

(A) Treaty of Lahore
(B) Treaty of Madras
(C) Treaty of Peshwar
(D) Treaty of Mangalore

Answer: (A) Treaty of Lahore
Explanation: N/A

Q. 44
Who wrote the book ‘Poverty and Un-British Rule in India‘?

(A) Dadabhai Naoroji
(B) Jawaharlal Nehru
(C) Gopalkrishna Gokhle
(D) Winston Churchill

Answer: (A) Dadabhai Naoroji
Explanation: N/A

Q. 45
The drain of wealth theory was first propounded by

(A) Adam Smith
(B) Dadabhai Naoroji
(C) Alfred Marshall
(D) John Stuart Mill

Answer: (B) Dadabhai Naoroji
Explanation: N/A

Q. 46
The Permanent Settlement of 1793 was introduced by

(A) Lord Ripon
(B) Lord Cornwallis
(C) Lord Canning
(D) Lord Dalhousie

Answer: (B) Lord Cornwallis
Explanation: N/A

Q. 47
Which Sikh Guru invented the Gurumukhi Script?

(A) Guru Nanak
(B) Guru Angad
(C) Guru Arjun Dev
(D) Guru Gobind Singh

Answer: (B) Guru Angad
Explanation: N/A

Q. 48
The treaty of Yandabo was signed in the year

(A) 1821 AD
(B) 1834 AD
(C) 1854 AD
(D) 1826 AD

Answer: (D) 1826 AD
Explanation: N/A

Q. 49
The treaty of Yandabo was signed after

(A) First Anglo-Burmese War
(B) Second Anglo-Burmese War
(C) First Anglo Afghan War
(D) Second Anglo Afghan War

Answer: (A) First Anglo-Burmese War
Explanation: N/A

Q. 50
Who wrote the book ‘Economic History of India‘?

(A) R. C. Dutta
(B) Amartya Sen
(C) Jawaharlal Nehru
(D) P. C. Mahalanobis

Answer: (A) R. C. Dutta
Explanation: N/A

Q. 51
Who was the Nawab of Bengal during the Battle of Plassey?

(A) Mir Jafar
(B) Siraj-ud-Daula
(C) Mir Qasim
(D) None of the above

Answer: (B) Siraj-ud-Daula
Explanation: N/A

Q. 52
What was the capital of Maharaja Ranjit Singh?

(A) Amritsar
(B) Lahore
(C) Peshwar
(D) Patiala

Answer: (B) Lahore
Explanation: N/A

Q. 53
Who was the first India ruler to accept the system of subsidiary alliance? 

(A) Nizam of Hyderabad
(B) Nawab of Avadh
(C) Nawab of Bengal
(D) Nawab of Oudh

Answer: (A) Nizam of Hyderabad
Explanation: N/A

Q. 54
After the third Anglo-Mysore war, Tipu Sultan signed which of the following treaty with British?

(A) Treaty of Madras
(B) Treaty of Seringapatnam
(C) Treaty of Mangalore
(D) Treaty of Calicut

Answer: (B) Treaty of Seringapatnam
Explanation: N/A

Q. 55
The Doctrine of Lapse was introduced by

(A) Lord Dalhousie
(B) Warren Hastings
(C) Lord Canning
(D) Lord Curzon

Answer: (A) Lord Dalhousie
Explanation: N/A

Q. 56
The Sikh Guru who wrote the biography of Guru Nanak is

(A) Guru Angad Dev
(B) Guru Amardas
(C) Guru Arjun Dev
(D) Guru Ramdas

Answer: (A)  Guru Angad Dev
Explanation: N/A

Q. 57
The British Governor General who introduced Postage Stamp in India was

(A) Lord Linlithgow
(B) Lord Rippon
(C) Lord Canning
(D) Lord Dalhousie

Answer: (D) Lord Dalhousie
Explanation: N/A

Q. 58
Who is known as the father of civil service in India?

(A) Lord Canning
(B) Lord Wellesley
(C) Lord Cornwallis
(D) Lord William Bantink

Answer: (C) Lord Conorwallis
Explanation: N/A

Q. 59
Which of the following Sikh Guru compiled the ‘Adi Granth‘?

(A) Guru Angad
(B) Guru Arjun Dev
(C) Guru Gobind Singh
(D) Guru Amardas

Answer: (B) Guru Arjun Dev
Explanation: N/A

Q. 60
Dadabhai Naoroji first cited the drain of wealth theory in the book

(A) Discovery of India
(B) Poverty and Un-British Rule in India
(C) Hind Swaraj
(D) Unhappy India

Answer: (B) Povery and Un-British Rule in India
Explanation: N/A

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on telegram